Charles Island

Charles IslandCharles Island, Oil on Panel, 12″ x 20″

This morning my friend Stephen and I went to Silver Sands State Park in Milford, CT, to paint. Beautiful day. Charles Island (just off the shore there)  is where Captain Kidd is reputed to have buried his treasure. Connecting the island to the mainland is a sand and gravel bar that gets submerged at high tide. This morning it was visible, but I decided not to include it in my painting. Keeps the island more mysterious.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on July 11, 2009.

8 Responses to “Charles Island”

  1. Hi Aaron,
    Wow, what time were you painting there…..you may have seen me kayaking by as I circled the island on Saturday. I was the kayaker with the bad paddling technique.

    Good that you started this artlog. The paintings look very good.I’m especially attracted to your still lifes which have a very unified light and beautiful color harmonies. Also, good to see that you’re getting into painting outside….I always think it helps hone ones color and tonal skills..and it’s so much darn fun!

    I’ll go by and see the small works exhibition that you’ll be showing in, in Fairfield.

    See you soon,

    Dean

    • Dean!

      We were there from about 9:30 AM to 12 Noon. I didn’t see anyone kayaking. Maybe I should add you to my Charles Island painting and add maritime art to my repertoire.

      Thank you for visiting my artlog and for your kind words.

      See you soon.

  2. Beautiful! I get the sense of viewing your works through antique glass, which lends a remarkable quality to your work and makes it so gorgeously unique.

  3. The paintings in your blog are superb. Congratulations. I’ve just looked at the small ones. Are they in acrylic?
    I use both acrylic and water-colour.

  4. kris and justin got stuck out there 3 summers ago – had to be rescued by the Milford Police….long story but needless to say, it was scary for me and em on the shore

Leave a Reply

 
