Silver Sands Marsh

Silver Sands MarshSilver Sands Marsh, Oil on Panel, 13″ x 12″

I went back to Silver Sands State Park in Milford, CT, yesterday morning. My friend Rachel and I spent a couple of hours painting on the edge of the marsh facing Long Island Sound in the short distance. Another beautiful day. We both loved the rock and quickly decided on this particular section of marshland. After loosely sketching the scene out on my panel, I started with the sky and worked my way down, adjusting relationships as I went, but pretty much keeping the sky the same temp and tone. Pretty much . . . sort of . . . mostly.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on July 16, 2009.

8 Responses to “Silver Sands Marsh”

  1. After emailing you a minute ago and asking to see what you did at Silver Sands, I remembered to go to your blog et voila! I like this one very much, very tranquil. I would like to join you in August for a painting day there if you decide to go back. It would be nice to do the same scene on a day with different weather and light, don’t you think?

  2. Hey Aaron. You have really captured the marshes at Silver Sands in a peaceful quiet way. Since I saw them with you a little over a week ago, they are still vivid in my memory. It is interesting how places can be quiet and serene or loud and bustling with people crossing close by on the walkway to the beach. The artist has so much control over the mood he/she presents in his/her art. It says so much about their point of view and what is important to them. Film is such a different medium because it includes the sounds that inhabit a place. I guess paintings please people if they evoke the moods and images they most desire to find there. I love the tranquility of the marshes and quiet power of the ocean. But I also like the famous impressionist paintings of people walking along the beach, tending to children and letting the wind whip against their hair and clothing. What a gift it is to capture on canvas the mood and life of a place for others to enjoy for many many years and to remind them of pleasant times in their past. 🙂
    Stephen

    • Hey, Stephen. Thank you for your thought-provoking comments. Yes, I love the tranquility of the marshes. It was much quieter and more peaceful there than on the beach where we were painting!

  3. As the previous comments indicated, I also find the tranquility
    in your rendition of “silver sands marshes”. Well done! Sorry to
    read about the postponement,but maybe the next date I will be
    able to attend(I had a previous engagement on this date.)
    Take care,
    Tom

    • Thank you, Tom. Sometimes making a painting can be a struggle, but this one just seemed to paint itself. It was a pretty good day.

  4. Hi Aaron,
    Beautiful luminous light in this landscape. I like the broad simple strokes which the vertical drips are subordinated to. I painted there with Constance a couple of months ago and I think she might have painted the same rock!
    See you on Monday,
    Dean

Leave a Reply

 
