Pine Creek

Pine CreekPine Creek, Oil on Panel, 10″ x 12″

I am drawn to the drip. It’s the mark which, to me,  most signifies the medium of paint, and it’s also very characteristically human. It’s a mark of mess, mistake, or carelessness. When you’re painting something other than fine art, like the exterior of your house, interior walls, furniture, etc., you try to avoid the drip or it’ll look like a sloppy job. I like the drip because it leaves on my work an expressly (and expressively) human stamp. It’s also a nice way to add some “air,” or atmosphere, into large fields of tone. It helps to break up monotony and adds to the abstraction.

My new painting Pine Creek is the scene on the other side of the bridge, opposite of Pine Creek Meadows (please see posting on July 7, 2009).

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on July 23, 2009.

4 Responses to “Pine Creek”

  1. Aaron , It’s Helene of (Luisa & LWCC) I Googled you and ,wow what a great idea that was….
    I love the drip ,(when did you first start adding the drip) to yor artwork ……….I also love Magnolia

    • Thanks so much, Helene! It was great to hear from you. Thanks for visiting my artlog and website.

  2. Wow, I love your work and your artistic style. I found you on artscuttlebutt and am glad I did. If you ever have a show in NYC please let me know as I would love to your work in person.

    • Lynn, thank you for visiting and for your very kind words. Hope to have a show there one day soon.

Leave a Reply

 
