Back to the Drawing Board

EmptiedEmptied, Charcoal on Paper, 10″ x 14″

It was back down to the basement and back to the drawing board (literally), not because I was unhappy with my previous work, but quite the opposite. I really enjoyed making something in a medium different from what I normally use. I suppose this is one way one’s work can become richer. Everything you do informs everything else you do.

For some reason, this drawing didn’t want to cooperate at first. It was a little bit of a struggle. Some paintings seem to just paint themselves and some drawings just draw themselves. Not this one. At one point, I was tempted to turn it into an origami snowball. Glad I didn’t and persevered. I think the struggle must make one’s work richer as well.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on August 31, 2009.

4 Responses to “Back to the Drawing Board”

  1. Haha 🙂 This is SO true!! I’m reading this to some of my classes at school!

  2. Beautiful job Aaron!

Leave a Reply

 
