New Pose: C.L. Standing

CL-StandingC.L. Standing, Oil on Canvas, 24″ x 18″

I started a new painting last week of a really nice standing pose by Carla, who again spoiled us with her impersonation of a statue. I’m scheduled to continue with this pose next week — can’t wait! I may or may not get a third session, so I’m hoping to finish it up next time.

I love painting from life, but I also paint from photographs as well — sometimes a combination of the two. I think painting from life teaches you about modeling form and really develops your eye, and there’s just nothing more inspiring than having a live figure or landscape or still life right in front of you. Sometimes using a photograph is necessary though, like when the subject is unavailable or you’re just not in the mood to stand outside in the heat or cold to do a landscape! I see both live subjects and photographs as tools used by the artist to create an image. In the end, the real issue is whether or not your painting communicates the image successfully.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on September 11, 2009.

4 Responses to “New Pose: C.L. Standing”

  1. I like this, it speaks!

    • Thanks, Tom. Had a second go at it yesterday. It’s almost finished. I may or may not get a third shot at it in another month. If need be, I can finish it without the third session.

  2. I like the placement of the model’s hand, and the tilt of her head. She could be saying so many things, but like many of your nudes, I see myself in her, and my own feelings and moods come out in her expression. Bravo!!

    • Thanks, Rach. I had a second session, so the painting’s almost finished. Don’t know if I’ll get a third.

Leave a Reply

 
