Postcards from the Basement

PostcardsBowl, Carbon and Graphite on Paper, 4″ x 6″; Pointer, Carbon and Graphite on Paper, 4″ x 6″

I’ve been doing some more drawing down in my basement. These are two new small ones I made. I used a combination of carbon pencil and graphite powder. I really like how dark I can get with the carbon pencil, and it’s more matte than a graphite pencil. I’m not too fond of that graphite sheen. The paper I’m using has some “tooth” to it, so it gives the drawings a kind of old photo quality.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on September 15, 2009.

8 Responses to “Postcards from the Basement”

  1. I am in agreement with you on all but the sheen. I like it.
    although I’m looking at a photo. Take care.

  2. Where do you get carbon pencil (is it anything like a charcoal pencil?), and what are you using for your highlights?

    • I’m using Wolff’s carbon pencils. On 2 of the postcards (Man in the Mirror and Pointer), the highlights are just the white paper underneath. On bowl, since the highlights needed to be more brilliant, I used white acrylic paint. White pastel wasn’t sufficient.

  3. love your work.

  4. Wonderful wonderful work!
    As a fellow exhibitor at this art show, I hope to meet you.

    • Hi Mary Grace. Thank you so much for visiting and for your kind compliment. Yes, hope to meet you!

Leave a Reply

 
