Progress: C.L. Standing

CL-Standing-2C.L. Standing, Oil on Canvas, 24″ x 18″

Here’s how this painting is progressing (please see post on September 11 for how it started out). I like how it’s going, so I want to make sure I don’t over do it.

When is a painting finished anyway?? I suppose it’s different for everyone. Georgio Morandi said that a painting is something so difficult to achieve in every part that it’s enough if you’re pleased with nine tenths of it. In an interview, Anotonio López Garcia was asked if there were any unfinished works in a particular exhibition. He said there were, of course, and asked what it meant to be unfinished? Nobody knows. When there is a substance dense enough, the work is finished. I’ve also heard or read that paintings aren’t finished, they just stop in interesting places.

Me, I wonder if it depends on how you like your meat cooked. My wife Luisa tells me that I like a painting that’s medium rare. Well-done (overworked) for my taste, kills the flavor and texture. When is a painting finished for you? When do you call it quits?

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on September 24, 2009.

9 Responses to “Progress: C.L. Standing”

  1. First of all, great job on the painting. Your organic application of paint and unerring eye are major reasons why I’m drawn to your work. 2nd of all, great question. How do we really know when a piece is done? It’s really not something I can quantify, but I just get to a point in every piece that I realize it’s finished. There are a few that I look back on and think, “Hmm, I coulda’ done more to that one…”, but overall once I call a piece done I can honestly say I rarely second guess that decision… I like your wife’s meat temperature analogy… I think I’m more of a medium guy…

    • Don, thank you for your compliment. “Organic application of paint” is very thought provoking. I like it! And thanks for weighing in on the question. Medium’s good!

  2. “…it’s enough if you’re pleased with nine tenths of it.” That’s a great quote!

    I love the colors of her skin! I think its beautiful!

    For me, I know I’m done in one of two instances:
    1- I’m just done. Its weird, no real explanation. I just know, I don’t need to work on it any more.
    2- I hate it. I hate the painting and I don’t want to work on it anymore. I try to “fix” it but it won’t “do what I want it to do.” Then I walk past it a week later and realize, it’s done.

    • Yes! Isn’t that a great quote?! I love Morandi. Thank you for your kind compliment and for answering the question. It’s really cool that you have a definite sense when a piece is done. Yes, sometimes you just have to sit with a while to know it’s done or that you really do indeed like it. Thanks for visiting!

  3. This is one of my favorites. As I age I aspire to age as gracefully as the beautful model in the painting.

    I’m done with a project when I’ve lived with a while and feel adding more is just adding more. My husband asks…”When are you going to be done”. My answer is always…when it tells me it’s finished

    • Hi Valerie. Thank you so much for visiting and for leaving a comment. Glad you like C.L. Standing. Yes, sometimes you need to live with your pieces a while to see what it needs and doesn’t need. I like your answer: “when it tells me it’s finished.” Hope your painting is going well.

  4. Last week it was all about food. This week it’s clay. Next week…I’ll let you know

  5. I on the other hand love to create but not always to consume…ironic really My favorite part of food is seeing friends and family enjoying it.

Leave a Reply

 
