Mount Grove Cemetery

Mount-Grove-CemeteryMount Grove Cemetery, Oil on Panel, 12″ x 10″

Yesterday, my friend Mo took me to one of her favorite painting places: Mount Grove Cemetery in Bridgeport, CT. It’s where P.T. Barnum and General Tom Thumb were laid to rest. There are so many wonderful vistas to choose from there. We went in the morning for a couple of hours. The weather was perfect, and the leaves were beginning to turn.

Mo worked with pastel pencils, capturing one of the hillside tombs between two trees. I worked from the same place but in another direction. My painting started out as a flat brush piece with exposed brush strokes, but then I just had this urge to take my palette knife to it. I always feel like I’m searching for something, searching for some way in which to express myself, some way in which the paint needs to be laid down and pushed around.

If you are interested in painting at Mount Grove Cemetery, make sure you check in at the office first. It is private property.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on September 26, 2009.

8 Responses to “Mount Grove Cemetery”

  1. I like the fact that you painted this in a bright
    sunlit look. It “livens” up an otherwise “quiet” landscape! 🙂

    • Hey, thanks, Tom. It was an exceptional day. Bright sun but cool breeze. At times, more than a breeze.

  2. I love cemetaries; they are just so peaceful and so beautiful. This is lovely, Aaron. I love the suggestion of mist or haze…It implies the spectres of those buried there…

  3. wonderful work. The sky color and brightness is kept in mind. Beautiful.

    • Thank you, Megha. You’re Man Playing Flute has a very nice composition/design. I tried leaving a comment on your blog but it wouldn’t accept it.

  4. great piece! your choice of location is excellent and your composition inviting. I am looking forward to seeing more of your plein air excursions captured.

    • Rose, thanks so much for visiting and for your kind words. Going to a nice place today, Ash Creek.

Leave a Reply

 
