Return to Silver Sands

Trees-at-Silver-SandsTrees at Silver Sands, Oil on Canvas, 20″ x 20″

Last Thursday, my friends (Mo and Rach) and I spent the morning at Silver Sands State Park in Milford, CT. Although the clouds started rolling in quickly and the temperature began dropping, we managed to get in a couple hours of painting.

Again, I decided to make the palette knife my weapon of choice, using my brushes sparingly. I went for a more diffused look, spreading the masses around and into each other. I really like the texture and crudeness that using a palette knife offers, and the resulting abstraction really does something for me.

As I mentioned in my post “Mount Grove Cemetery” (September 26), I always feel like I’m searching for something, searching for some way in which to express my essential self. I’m an artist and not a particular style or method. Picasso experimented all his life — I think they call the result “stylistic dynamism.” I think what’s important is that you stay true to yourself, whoever that is and however it manifests throughout your life. We are all complicated beings.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on October 5, 2009.

14 Responses to “Return to Silver Sands”

  1. Nice work, Aaron. I’m glad you gave those trees friends, because we wouldn’t want them to be lonely… That’s what Bob Ross used to say anyway. 😉

  2. I very much like the painting, Aaron. I always think that it takes such adaptability and courage to do plein air.

    • Thank you so much, Valerie. As a real indoors kind of guy, I totally agree with what you said. You have to adapt and dig right in. Plein air ain’t for sissies.

  3. You might enjoy Ann Corbett’s Palette Knife Painting blog, Aaron. She does beautiful, and sometimes quite detailed pieces using simply a palette knife. I love the “diffused” look you’ve achieved with this piece. I will be forever a toddler in the painting realm and it becoems so much more apparent when I see pieces such as this.

    • Thank you for visiting again, Leaves. I would love to check out Ann Corbett’s blog, but I’m having difficulty locating it for some reason. Do you have a link you can send me? Glad you like the diffused look. Something I’ve been thinking about a lot lately. Hope you are well.

  4. I had a friend describe palette knife work as “sculpting with paint”. Isn’t it fun? I really like how the diffused look you generated gives me the feeling of looking thru an old window after a rain shower. It makes me want to go out and enjoy the freshness to the air that the shower brings. That freshness is what I see in this painting. Nice job. -Don

    • Thanks, Don! Interesting that you should say “sculpting with paint.” Being a “maker,” a person who likes to construct, build, assemble things, I think of my approach to painting (no matter what implement is used) as sculpting, fashioning 3-D images on a 2-D plane and assembling a work with different kinds of marks (brush strokes, palette knife applications, drips, spatters, drops, etc.). I love your palette knife work on your masks. They really do look like sculptures!

  5. Loving the palette knife– The style reminds me of life– going through it being assaulted by a blunt instrument…yes, that’s what I feel like by the end of the work week– Once again you’ve captured human emotion with stunning accuracy!!

    • Whoa! That’s not a metaphor I was going for, but hey, if it speaks to you in that way, so be it. Sorry you are being assaulted. Hope plein air tomorrow helps.

  6. Hey Aaron,
    I like this painting! I think the palette knife is working really well for you here with the variety of mark making which looks very intergrated into the building of the image. Also, very successful light and atmosphere.
    Good going!,
    Dean

  7. Hi Aaron
    What a treat to see your work. This is a fav. I am always drawn to texture and layers – seeing this could painting from a photo only – it could be an encaustic which always appeals to me. Were you born to paint?

    • Hi Sandy. Thanks so much for visiting. Glad you like this painting. Yes, it is my belief that I was created to be an artist.

Leave a Reply

 
