Ash Creek Marsh

Ash-Creek-MarshAsh Creek Marsh, Oil on Canvas, 18″ x 24″

Last week, my friend Rachel and I went to paint at the South Benson Marina in Fairfield, CT. We chose a spot that looked out onto Ash Creek and the marsh. The Marina is a favorite walking place for many, and several people stopped to see how our paintings were progressing. I love taking short breaks to chat with passersby who take an interest in what I’m doing.

Although it was a gorgeous day and the scene was inspiring, both Rachel and I felt challenged that morning. After the initial block in, I used my palette knife to build the painting, only to redraw and redefine the whole thing with a large flat brush after a break. For the rest of the morning, I used the palette knife to rebuild and push the paint around.

Back home in the studio, I realized I was really missing the strong solid rectangular strokes of my flat brush and decided to build the painting up more with some brush strokes, as well as with some drips and spatters. I really like the variety and combination of marks, and making this piece kind of felt like I was composing a poem.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on October 14, 2009.

10 Responses to “Ash Creek Marsh”

  1. This is really nice

  2. Hi Aaron – your words about feeling like you were composing a poem struck home with me, for as I viewed the painting it felt lyrical as if I was experiencing a poem. Wish I could see it larger or better yet in person. Look forward to your further venturings.

    • Hi Rose. Thank you so much. I’m glad you connected with my poem analogy. So I’m not crazy.

  3. Aaron, your paintings have a really beautiful and intriguing style which I am enjoying as I get to know you more through your posts. Very original!

    • Valerie, thanks so much for your comments. That word “original” means a lot to me as I have been in search of what it means to be “original” and “true to oneself.” And I’m glad that my posts are helping you get to know me. Thanks for taking the time to read.

  4. Hi Aaron,
    I like the serenity of it! I feel some peace looking at it,
    and for me that’s hard to come by. Thank you.

    • Hi Tom. I’m glad you feel the peace in it. It was indeed a very peaceful scene, and the whole outing was a peaceful breakaway from cares and concerns.

  5. Nicely done, Aaron. I have a hard time figuring out what I like best about this piece, but I do keep coming back to the sky. There is truly a look of a fading summer about it. Much as I love the trees and the water, I still keep gazing at the beaten sky. Great job, as always!

    • Thank you, Leaves. You know, I think sky is usually my favorite part of landscape. For me, it sets the tone of the painting.

Leave a Reply

 
