Chocolate Box

Chocolate-BoxChocolate Box, Oil on Panel, 10″ x 12″

This painting was made for a very special occasion, and the way in which it was painted was of key importance. In his classroom, a friend and mentor of mine discourages inexperienced painters from using small  brushes (exclusively), burnt umber, and photographs, all with very good reasons. I challenged myself to create a cheeky homage to him by using only burnt umber (and white, of course), a #2 flat brush (and a couple of smaller round brushes), and a photo of the still life I arranged. It was great fun to do, although restricting myself to tiny brushes was a royal pain.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on October 26, 2009.

18 Responses to “Chocolate Box”

  1. NEAT…AND HOW MANY DID YOU EAT?

  2. I love it! Of course I’m partial to food art 🙂

  3. inviting and as you say non-fattening, but I really like the controls you set up for yourself in order to pay homage to your friend. Thanx for sharing your work, Aaron!

  4. O.K. Now I’m hungry for See’s.

    • Oh man. You had to go and mention See’s. My favorite ones are the marzipan covered in dark chocolate. Whenever my parents come to visit me, they bring a whole box of those bad boys. Glass of red wine, See’s — heaven.

  5. My goodness! Other than the restriction on the use of the brown tone, I do tend towards photographs and small brushes! LOL It is only recently that I’ve noticed I’m holding the brush a lot higher on the handle and less like a pencil, and I’ve also been trying to work with a larger brush! Still using photos almost exclusively though. Anyway, Aaron, I think I am most impressed by the deceptively “simple” white box. The construction and light in it are amazing! I would bet your friend also does not allow his students to eat chocolates in class either! So a home run scored on this piece!!!

    • Hi Leaves! Thank you for visiting again and for your compliment. Glad you like the piece. Glad you have been pushing yourself to use larger brushes. One reason why he does this is to encourage his students to think more in terms of tonal masses instead of rendering detail. The relationships between masses have more impact on a painting than detail. It’s also easier to cover large areas with bigger brushes. He actually does allow treats in class!

  6. I am a Harry & David fan myself, but LOVE the painting nonetheless. Why do you refer to yourself as “inexperienced”? And it is no way “cheeky”! It’s awesome!

  7. Great job, Aaron…as usual. Way to push yourself while challenging the “rules”. Being a nosey person, I would love to know what the special occasion was… -Don

    • Hi, Don. Thanks! It’s always fun to see what you can do with restrictions, sort of making the most out of less.

  8. Restrictions, yuk– Chocolate,mmmmm! I’d have to paint onions &
    turnips, because I don’t like them! That way they stay long enough
    for me to do a rendering! Great job on the piece Aaron!

  9. forbidden things always trigger my curiosity. whether it challenges the needs for them or only to prove the righteousness of them, i’m always driven to try something outside the fences. i’m glad to see that you have similar spirit, but, yours is only sweeter!

Leave a Reply

 
