Bell

Bell, Oil on Canvas, 36″ x 12″

This past weekend, my wife and I took a walk into town and stopped by the Ellen Hyde Phillips Gallery at Fairfield Arts Council to see the current show. One of my paintings that I showed there last spring in a small solo exhibit came up in a conversation between two of the people who work there. Last night, I realized that I don’t have it posted on my portfolio website, so I thought I would post it here on my artlog today.

I painted the image back in 2007. I don’t know which country the bell is from or what it was used for exactly, but it was given to me when I worked at an instrument rental company in New York City many, many moons ago. Originally, I wasn’t going to include it in my show, but the Director, who previously saw it in another venue, had me go home and get it, while we were in the middle of hanging the show. Apparently, according to my friend Linda (one of the great folks at FAC), it was the  piece that received the most comments. It remains for sale.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on November 30, 2009.

16 Responses to “Bell”

  1. Aaron, it is a beautiful piece. Love the way the color of the background works with the bell. The image makes you wonder what it was rung for.

    • Thank you, Evelyn. The background is a beautiful scarf that my wife bought in Ecuador. It was difficult to keep from featuring the scarf!

  2. Gorgeous.
    I love that vermillion (?) red… is that the color? Or at any rate, that orange background.
    Isn’t it strange how the most commented upon paintings don’t sell as fast as other paintings?
    I had a painting just like that (of shoes, quelle surprise!) that everyone would talk about- but no one bought.
    Until last week 🙂
    I think they just have to wait for the really special person to come claim them.

    • Hi Linda! Thanks for visiting. The scarf that served as the background is indeed an orangy red, but I had to cool it down enough so it wouldn’t overtake the bell. Yes, I guess you are right. We just have to wait for the really special person!

  3. nice piece aaron, no surprise people are talking about it

  4. it’s lovely!

  5. Love the backdrop color, Aaron. I find myself intrigued by the splits/cracks in the bell itself and in the chain. What an interesting and beautiful painting!

  6. Aaron, as I was reading this I thought, “nice job, nice story”, and probably would not have commented until I read your last sentence. I laughed out loud. The sarcasm dripped as strongly as any color you’ve ever dripped across one of your wonderful works of art. Love it! -Don

  7. That’s a beautiful picture, Aaron. Thank you for sharing it with us.

  8. I love the bell with the red! Awesome!

Leave a Reply

 
