More Miniatures

Red Dragon, Acrylic on Wood, 1.5″ x 1″; Chrysanthemum, Acrylic on Wood, 1″ x 1″; Ink and Quill, Acrylic on Wood, 1.5″ x 1″

These miniature paintings are pendants that I made as Christmas gifts for my father, mother and wife. For my dad, who wears no jewelry of any kind (except a watch), I thought it would be fun and funny to make him a Mahjong tile: the Red Dragon. We all love to play Mahjong whenever and wherever we get together. For my mother, I made a chrysanthemum, one of her favorite flowers. And after I gave my wife “Apple of My Eye” for her birthday, she suggested that I make her another pendant for Christmas with an ink bottle and quill since she is a writer. They were all challenging and a lot of fun to make.

To see how making my miniatures started, please see my post “Apple of my Eye” on November 11, 2009.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on December 27, 2009.

18 Responses to “More Miniatures”

  1. Aaron,
    So sorry I missed a lot of your posts & sending you holiday greetings. Wonderfully done & thoughtful gifts!
    Take care,
    Tom

  2. Wow! Great job, Aaron… and GREAT gifts. You can sure pack a lot into such a small area. I’m sure your loved ones really enjoyed these. -Don

    • Hey thanks Don. We all got a kick out of wearing them together (I have a couple of my own). My dad calls it a “club.” 🙂

  3. I must say that these are all so beautiful and such perfect gifts! I also have to confess that your wife’s gift is my special favorite. The colors are wonderful, the rendering exquisite. Plus I love the emotion, the taking me backwards in time sense that I get from it. Aaron, there is nothing you can’t do, I swear!

    • Hi Leaves. Thank you so much. They were a lot of fun to make. The colors on the ink and quill one are my wife’s favorite colors.

  4. Those are absolutely gorgeous, Aaron. I’m suitably jealous of your folks 🙂

  5. Aaron, they all turned out amazingly well. Hope that they were all thrilled and that you had a wonderful Christmas 🙂

  6. Aaron, these are wonderful! A whole new direction to be explored and it all started with the lovely piece for your wife. I look forward to seeing more of these little works. Not only are the paintings inspired, but the quality of your finishing make me want to put one on to wear around.

  7. Aaron, you pack so much detail on such little canvases. They’re sweet.

    Jewelry and frame making in addition to your art, what’s next?! 😉

  8. can i say how much i LOVE these! what a great gift aaron. can i be related to you, i think i see some italian in you…LOL seriously though, these are beautiful!

  9. Hi Aaron-
    Hi Aaron-
    Happy New Decade to you and Luisa!
    We had dinner with your parents and they were wearing your handmade pendants proudly and told us the whole story. I am thinking of ordering a couple for valentine’s day. Do you think you can produce a double happiness pendant by that date? Let me know. Leonard and Christina Lew

    • Hi! Thank you so much for visiting my artlog! Happy New Decade to you too! I will email you about the Double Happiness.

Leave a Reply

 
