November Offering

November Offering, Oil on Canvas, 20″ x 20″

Although I appreciate all four seasons, autumn is by far my favorite. The cool air is invigorating and the fall colors warm my soul. I wanted to make a painting that reminded me of the “feel” of fall, this sort of enveloping, comforting warmth.

Using the squashes that decorate our table (I think we’ll eventually eat them), I set up a still life and zeroed in on an area of the arrangement. I focused on the design, the structure of the painting, making it about color, shape, and edges.  The painting ended up becoming a combination of still life and landscape. If you look close enough, you can see the falling leaves!

I call this piece November Offering, not only because it’s about what the fall has to offer, but also because it’s what I offer up to the God who made my favorite season.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on November 18, 2010.

10 Responses to “November Offering”

  1. i never tire of pumpkins and gourds. great painting!

  2. Awesome painting, honey. Of course, it looks even better live.

  3. I totally see what you mean! It still has hints of the same style, but much deeper, and it feels more alive, like it’s moving!

  4. I love the new painting Aaron! It almost seems to exude a comforting warmth… very nice indeed. Now I think I need to go make some butternut squash soup 😉

  5. Aaron, nice work with your new still life. When you were telling me about it, I imagined something darker – but then that’s just me. I think the Gods would be pleased.

Leave a Reply

 
