Home

Home, Oil on Canvas, 24″ x 30″

Yes, this is a really different kind of painting for me. It was inspired by Ingrid Michaelson’s song “Are We there Yet?” and was painted for my church’s December series. In her song, Michaelson sings about the idea of “home” and not having arrived there yet. The idea of the painting was to compare the Christmas star with a candle in a window. That is to say, the star was God’s candle in his window showing the way home.

I first sketched the idea out in my book but just couldn’t seem to get it to work. Then I decided to go “cartoon” with it. This allowed me to create a more dynamic, playful picture with slanted lines and related shapes. I added the colorful Christmas house lights to bring the night of the nativity into the present. I would like to wish everyone a happy, healthy, safe holiday!

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on December 5, 2010.

6 Responses to “Home”

  1. Nice job, Aaron! This would make a beautiful Christmas Card. Merry Christmas.

    -Don

  2. Very Edgy, Aaron. I’m lovin it! Definitely a different direction for you. I personally see the contrast between the Christmas lights and the star from the Christmas story. The fake light of Christmas vs. the real light of Christmas.

    • Hi Rach! I don’t think it will be a full fledged direction but more of a nice change every now and then. Hope you are well.

  3. Aaron, i’ve always loved the Bethlehem star ………
    But my comment is more about a sentence in your description of the painting..
    “the star was Gods candle in his window showing the way home”
    Wow……

Leave a Reply

 
