Captive Thought

Captive Thought, Oil on Canvas, Wood, Hanger wire, and Light Bulbs, H86″

My greatest struggles in life are in my head. In my installation Captive Thought, I chose the light bulb as the unifying element. It’s the well-known symbol for an idea or thought. When I first set out to make this piece, the idea started out as one thing (a wood sculpture of a head with wire and light bulbs coming out of it) and evolved into something very different. I’ve learned that you just have to go where the piece wants to go and not fight it. One part of the installation, the cage above the painting, was made way back in 1998. I named it Head Cage and never really did anything with it. I love that it finally has a home in this installation. Created for a Sunday message at my church, this piece was inspired by 2 Corinthians 10:5b.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on March 3, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
