Hibernation

Hibernation, Oil on Board, 30″ x 24″

Winter is like an unlit light bulb, sleeping, waiting, in no hurry to light up into spring, and our winter here in Connecticut was particularly long this year. This old fixture hangs from the ceiling of my studio. I was inspired to make a painting of it by north light two days before the first day of spring. After painting it on a 14″ x 12″ piece of Masonite, I thought it needed more space around it, so I inserted it into another board with the help of my good friend Rich who made some very nice, precise cuts. Now the piece is more cave-like, and I love how the drip patterns of the two boards relate in some places.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on April 14, 2011.

4 Responses to “Hibernation”

  1. I really like this piece Aaron; particularly the that it’s one painting inserted within another. Those drips are fraught with atmosphere and add something wonderful to this painting!

  2. Very nice, Aaron. As always, I particularly love reading about your creative process.

Leave a Reply

 
