A New Year of Painting

House on Howe Avenue, Shelton, CT, Oil on Canvas, 36″ x 36″, Work in Progress

It’s a new year, full of hope and promise, just like an empty canvas. For one of my last shows of 2011, I painted a series of 12 small (8″ x 8″) building tops (please see my October 23, 2011 post Small Works Show at Ulla Surland’s Design Boutique & Gallery). After the show’s opening, I ended up painting a 13th canvas of a great old house in Shelton, CT. I then wondered what it would be like to do a large roof top. Really large. So I started a version of #13 on a 36″ x 36″ canvas. House on Howe Avenue, Shelton, CT is a work in progress, my first painting of the new year, and I really like how it’s turning out.

I’m working towards a fall solo show, scheduled for September through October. I have my work cut out for me. More news on my progress in the coming weeks and months, so stay tuned!

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on January 29, 2012.

2 Responses to “A New Year of Painting”

  1. Hello Aaron!,
    Long time incomunicado! I’ve been looking at your blog this evening and am really glad to see so much new work. I love the way this large scale rooftop painting is developing, very solid composition and an interesting vantage point. I think you achieve an all enveloping light in many of your paintings especially your landscapes. Looking forward to seeing how this one evolves!
    All the best,
    Dean

    • Dean! Thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. It’s good to hear from you. Hope you are well.

Leave a Reply

 
