Painting-on-the-Round

Pearl, Oil on Masonite, 20″ Diameter

I had a circle of masonite sitting in my basement for a long time. I can’t quite remember where it came from, but I think it was from the bottom tier of a wedding cake. Who’s wedding cake? Mine? I don’t remember.

I chose to paint this still life from a bird’s eye view so that the painting could hang on the wall in more than just one way. Even so, I confess I have my favorite way. My wife has her favorite way, and the future owner will no doubt have his or her preference.

~ by aaroncaycedokimura on March 28, 2012.

4 Responses to “Painting-on-the-Round”

  1. Hmm… for me, it’s definitely the largest one the left. Wait a minute, the bottom right looks good too. How didi you like painting on the masonite? Do you think that you’ll do more rounds?

    • In the past handful of years, I’ve done most of my paintings on masonite. I really like the way it takes the paint. More rounds? Depends on if I get access to any wedding cakes in the future!

  2. I like the big one. Which one do you like & which one does Louisa like?

Leave a Reply

 
